Tumeric & cinnamon oats

One of my recent experiments I just had to share.. it may seem a little crazy but bear with me. After reading about the benefits of tumeric (here) I started experimenting with it in everything. I found that adding it to porridge along with cinnamon makes a really great breakfast. This is one of my favourite recipes at the moment – I am having it every day! The spices make it really warming and comforting and the toppings turn it into a tasty morning treat.

20170205_075121_resized

Prep time:  15 mins (5 mins to prepare and 10 mins to cook)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oats

1 cup plant milk (I use soy or oat milk)

1/2-1tsp tumeric

1/2-1tsp cinnamon

I put 1/2-1tsp for the spices, just experiment and find the amount of each which tastes best to you. I usually just guess how much I am putting in so it varies slightly each time.

Small handful raisins

Squeeze of any sweetener (I use agave or maple syrup)

Optional:

1/2tbsp ground flaxseeds

Sprinkle of almond flakes

Method:

  1. Add all ingredients except sweetener and almond flakes to a pan and heat gently until all liquid has been absorbed and oats are soft. If adding flax you may need to add a bit more water.
  2. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Top with sweetener and almond flakes if using.

And that’s it! Enjoy 🙂

Amy x

 

Leave a Reply

