Introduction – why I am here

Hello and welcome to my blog! For those that don’t know me personally, my name is Amy and I am a 23 year old recent graduate currently living in the UK.

Not too long ago I made the life changing decision to adopt a plant-based lifestyle. The most obvious part of this decision to those around me was that I stopped consuming animal products, notably meat, dairy and eggs. Suddenly every social event involved 101 questions and the mental turmoil about the best way to answer them.

We all know the stereotype of the preachy vegan…

542e5adefc80cb89e16cb89a02ece077a61082fcd892050c9d584779778bf663 Source

Jokes aside it is really difficult to find the balance between explaining the reasons behind your choices and insulting others for theirs. This is the main reason for me starting this blog. I wanted to create a place to share the information that has led me to where I am today – at least this way anyone who disagrees can easily click the X in the corner of the screen and we can continue our lives, no offense taken.

I also hope that in sharing some of the top tips and recipes I have picked up along the way I can help any of you thinking about transitioning to a plant-based lifestyle on your own journey. Because it is just that, a journey. I am still learning myself and trying to make better choices each day.

I really do believe this is one of the best decisions we can make for the environment, the animals and for our own health. Although veganism can be tough at times (more of that in later posts), I can honestly say that it is way easier than I expected. Once you start to realise the benefits it becomes addictive! It is pretty much a hobby for me these days, learning how to cook tasty meals and sourcing ethical products is a fun challenge and it is great to know I am making a difference.

So I think we have come to the end of my first blog. My next post will probably be a quick background to how I came to veganism and where I am right now in my journey. If you have any specific questions or topics you would like me to address, please let me know in the comments and I will try to post about it soon. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Amy

 

Leave a Reply

